Published: Thu, January 05, 2017
Sport | By Desiree Waters

For Second Time, Joe Jacoby Named Pro Football Hall Of Fame Finalist

Former Eagles safety Brian Dawkins was named as one of 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Headlining the group is RB LaDainian Tomlinson, who is joined by G Alan Faneca, DE Jason Taylor, CB Ty Law and C Kevin Mawae.

Terrell Davis, a running back with the Denver Broncos from 1995 to 2001, was also listed.

The 15 Modern-Era Finalists will be considered for election to the hall of fame when the Hall's Selection Committee meets in Houston on the day before Super Bowl LI to elect the new class.

Senegal defends its UN Israel settlement vote
After the resolution was passed, Trump said that upon his inauguration, " things will be different " in US-UN relations. The resolution, which passed 14-0, condemns Israel for what it described as a "flagrant violation" of worldwide law.

Up to five of the 15 will be chosen for induction when the Selection Committee meets February 4 in Houston, one day before Super Bowl LI. Players can be nominated by the seniors committee once they have reached 25 years since their National Football League careers ended, as was the case with Easley.

"It was a very special group, a very special time", Jacoby said.

The former Eagles safety played in Philly for 13 years, recording 34 interceptions with 21 sacks, 32 forced fumbles and 16 recovered fumbles. He appeared in eight Pro Bowls, including two as a member of the Titans, and was a first-team All-Pro three times. He intercepted 26 passes during his career, in which he made the Pro Bowl nine times. Davis rushed for 157 yards in Super Bowl XXXII and became the first player in Super Bowl history to score three rushing touchdowns in a game. Owens ranks eighth in career receptions with 1,078, third in touchdown receptions with 153 and fifth in touchdowns scored with 156 on the NFL's all-time lists. But when he did play, few were better. One of these years, these sports writers will have to acknowledge and atone for their ignorance - and we look forward to being there to remind them of it. He was named to the Eagles' 75 anniversary team and the 2000 NFL All-Decade team. With the help of his former Razorbacks teammate, head coach Jimmy Johnson, Jones's Dallas squads quickly reeled off three Super Bowl titles in a four-year span.

While most Hall of Fame classes contain one or two first-ballot shoe-ins, many Canton hopefuls have to wait several years due to the limit of five modern-era inductees per year.

Like this: