Published: Sat, April 08, 2017
Entertainment | By Alexander Flowers

Akshay Kumar wins National Award for 'Rustom', 'Kasaav' named best film

Aren't these national film awards for Pelli Choopulu a slap on the face of TFI awards?

The other awards that the Malayalam film industry won include the Best Child Artiste that has been shared by three child actors - and saw Kerala boy Adish Praveen bagging it for his role in the film "Kunju Daivam".

Neerja, directed by Ram Madhvani, was named the best Hindi film. The chairperson for Non-Feature Film Jury was Raju Mishra while the chairperson for Writing Jury was Bhawana Somaaya.

"Allama" also won the award for best make-up. Based on the government operation to rescue over one lakh Indians in 1990 from Kuwait after it was invaded by Iraqi dictator Saddam Hussein, Raja Menon's film features a career-best performance from Kumar. Akshay Kumar was given best actor award in 64 National Film Award.

"It is a great thing", he said, elated over the jury's consideration of his acting in a Telugu movie (Janatha Garage) along with his Malayalam movies for the award. The movie has been produced by actress Priyanka Chopra and her mother Madhu. Apart from being considered the ultimate film recognition, they also hold the distinction of awarding merit across the country, and especially in regional cinema. Surabhi Lakshmi won best actress for "Minnaminungu the Firefly".

Following failed GOP replacement effort, record approval of Obamacare
Almost double that number - 61 percent - said responsibility lies with Trump and the Republicans, now that they're in control. White House officials and congressional leaders met Monday to discuss plans to revive their repeal- and-replace efforts.

The award for Best Screenplay (original) went to Syam Pushkaran for the film "Maheshinte Prathikaram" while that for Best Screenplay (adapted) went to Sanjay Krishnaji patel for "Dashakriya" and that for Best Editing went to "Rameshwar" for the film "Ventilator". It was before that of his rivals - Shah Rukh Khan (Fan), Salman Khan (Sultan) and Aamir Khan (Dangal) - who haven't won Best Actor yet. Pink received the award for Best Film on Social Issues category. When Prakash Jha was head of jury, Ajay Devgn won.

Jayadevan won the award for Sound Designer for Kaadu Pookkunna Neram.

The 64th National Film Award has begun, this was one of the much-awaited awards. Marathi film Kasaav was named the Best Feature Film for 2016. The Best Hindi Film award went to Neerja. Whereas the award for best music direction has been won by Babu Padmanabha for Allama. "As a director, the award increases my responsibility to make many more movies like this".

About Gurjit KaurGurjit Kaur is a young and vibrant writer, who is passionate about media.

Like this: