Published: Fri, April 07, 2017
Sport | By Desiree Waters

Thompson pays the penalty for rules blunder

"On Sunday afternoon, the LPGA received an email from a television viewer, saying that Lexi Thompson did not properly replace her ball before putting out the 17th hole during Saturday's third round of the ANA Inspiration".

And the infraction? Thompson marked a shot with a silver dollar, then when she replaced the ball it was "in a slightly different position". After a video review LPGA officials agreed and handed Thompson a 2-stroke penalty for the infraction plus an additional 2-strokes for signing an incorrect scorecard. Telling reporters, "I had to regroup myself, my caddie helped me out tremendously, we have a great relationship". You helped me push through those last holes so thank you for always believing in me. It happens, and I'll learn from it and hopefully I'll do better.

"It doesn't happen and I don't know why golf is the exception".

However, she could only birdie it, to tie on 14 under with Ryu and force a play-off, which the South Korean won at the first attempt with a birdie on the 18th.

"The LPGA rules officials made a judgment call at the moment, and we as professional golfers must accept it, no matter how painful it is", she said.

Asked if Sunday's incident would cause players to push for a change in policy, Fowler added: "I'm sure there's already been some sort of push, just from yesterday". However, her 67 score on Saturday was wrong, according to the fan who emailed the golf organization.

"The letter of the law was followed by the rules official, but there has to be a little more practical sense when it comes to doing these rules".

Wet, naked woman tells cops she's a mermaid, has webbed feet
Authorities estimated that the woman is between 16 and 30 year old. "We're in the mountains", resident Karen Renwick explained. She said her name was Joanna, but didn't know how she wound up in Fresno, walking naked down a busy street at 3 in the morning.

That's when LPGA rules officials told her they were giving her a four-stroke penalty for something she did the day before.

After the conclusion of the ANA Inspiration, Whan said he tried to call Thompson but that it went to voicemail.

"Also to the fans out there, words can't describe what you being there for me, meant to me".

Last night's debacle further brought to the surface the dissatisfaction both players and fans have with golf's governing bodies, with social media erupting with fury over the incident that cost Thompson the first major of the season.

The crowd at Dinah Shore Course and many viewers at home were firmly behind Thompson at this point.

"There's no other sport where anybody can call in and say "oh that was a foul", the 2016 PGA Championship victor said.

"I don't think it should happen because you're only showing the people out there who are in contention".

Like this: